agateau.wordpress.com is outdated. I moved my blog over to agateau.com. See you there.

Crop this!

I have been working on adding crop support to Gwenview these days. It’s still quite rough, but I am pleased with how it came out. Here is the mandatory screenshot:


Gwenview cropping an image

As I said, it’s still rough, and I plan to improve a few things, like moving the dialog content to the side bar for example or making it possible to drag the crop rectangle by grabbing it in the middle.


12 Comments on “Crop this!”

  1. john says:

    very nice to see this, thanks for the work. The kde4 version of gwenview seems to be quite an improvement!

  2. TeeZee says:

    looks cool!! *thumbs up*

  3. Rob says:

    YAY! That is something I wanted to see!

    It would be nice, “while your in there,” to have an aspect ratio crop option too. A check box “crop using an aspect ratio” and a place to enter the ratio or a dropdown to pick the ratio.

    Looking good!

  4. […] Crop this! I have been working on adding crop support to Gwenview these days. It’s still quite rough, but I am pleased with […] […]

  5. kibab says:

    Perhaps this is more of a gimp/krita feature, but I have always wanted to say ‘crop to YYxZZ dimensions’ and then have the selection box enforce the aspect ratio without forcing me to set the size.

    For example, I could tell it that I want to crop down to an 8×10, I could then choose the area that I want to see, and know that I’m going to end up with the correct aspect ratio. As almost all of my editing is simple, this would speed it up a lot when I go to crop images for printing.

    Thanks for the help, the great tool, and working on the new version!

  6. Aurélien says:

    Yes, I do plan to add support for crop ratio later. For now I am back to polish some other parts of Gwenview code, but I will eventually come back to finish this.

  7. mark cox says:

    any plans for lossless crop?

  8. Aurélien says:

    @mark: not for now, but it could be done.

  9. […] El gestor de ventanas de KDE, KWin, ha mejorado mucho desde el último artículo al respecto. Se han creado y mejorado efectos así como sus diálogos de configuración. No se ha olvidado a los usuarios con máquinas menos potentes, ya que KWin se rebaja a usar XRENDER o incluso desactiva las funcionalidades de composición en caso de ausencia de OpenGL. Se ha mejorado la integración entre Dolphin y Konqueror, mientras Gwenview ha recibido también sus mejoras. […]

  10. […] El gestor de ventanas de KDE, KWin, ha mejorado mucho. Se han creado y mejorado efectos así como sus diálogos de configuración. No se ha olvidado a los usuarios con máquinas menos potentes, ya que KWin se rebaja a usar XRENDER o incluso desactiva las funcionalidades de composición en caso de ausencia de OpenGL. Se ha mejorado la integración entre Dolphin y Konqueror, mientras Gwenview ha recibido también sus mejoras. […]

  11. This are good news! I hope you decide to support lossless jpeg crop too. Thats such a useful but not much used feature! There are currently no good gui applications available for this job.

    Thanks for continue your work Gwenview, i know u decide to stop already in the past :)

  12. Anders says:

    Please consider adding some sort of aspect controls! As a minimum ‘keep aspect’, but an option to input aspect values would be great.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.